Even though the Jaycees were an all-male organization when it was started back in 1920, Women have played an important role all along the way. In Michigan, the Jaycee Auxiliary was officially started in 1944. The local auxiliary organizations names varied including the use of: Women of the Jaycees, Jaycettes, or Jaycee women. The organizational meeting of the Michigan Junior Chamber of Commerce Auxiliary was promoted and arranged for by interested Jaycees, who foresaw the virtues of forming a state auxiliary. This meeting was held in the Aviation room of the Rowe Hotel, Grand Rapids, in May, 1944. The charter member organizations were Adrian, Highland Park, Holland, Kalamazoo, Muskegon and Saginaw. Mrs. Betty Sexton of Muskegon was elected to serve as Charter President. Added to the membership rolls that first year were Battle Creek, Bay City, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lincoln Park, Pontiac and Ypsilanti. In 1984, when the United States Jaycees voted to give women full membership rights in the Jaycees, the Auxiliary was disbanded. During its 40 year history, the Michigan Jaycees Auxiliary was guided under the leadership of the following Presidents:

President # Years Served Name Home Chapter
1st 1944-1945 Betty Sexton Muskegon
2nd 1945-1946 Ruth Golden Highland Park
3rd 1946-1947 Dorothea Burua Detroit
4th 1947-1948 Joan Bassett Muskegon
5th 1948-1949 Jeanette Arnold Ypsilanti
6th 1949-1950 Skeets Strom Highland Park
7th 1950-1951 Arlyne Welling Holland
8th 1951-1952 Jessie MacLeod Albion
9th 1952-1953 Ester Stacy Lapeer
10th 1953-1954 Jane Maslin Ann Arbor
11th 1954-1955 Marian Seitz Ypsilanti
12th 1955-1956 Lillian Craig Howell
13th 1956-1957 Ruth Dean Albion
14th 1957-1958 Rose Halman Ann Arbor
15th 1958-1959 Dolly Gardner Adrian
16th 1959-1960 Marguerite Falk Milan
17th 1960-1961 Jean Kenz St. Clair Shores
18th 1961 Phyllis McPherson Howell
19th 1961-1962 Arlene Eigdon Rochester
20th 1962-1963 Beth Clary Redford
21st 1963-1964 Doris Brohman Berrian Springs